CCHL announces players for 4th annual Central Canada Cup All-Star Challenge



The Central Canada Hockey League is pleased to announce the participants selected for the 4th Annual Central Canada Cup All-Star Challenge to be held at the MasterCard Centre in Toronto, ON November 14-16, 2014.

Among the forty players selected are 18 who have committed to attend NCAA Division I programs and 3 players rated by NHL Central Scouting for the 2015 draft.

League leading Carleton Place Canadians also led the way with seven players selected, including Bowling Green bound captain Stephen Baylis, 2013-14 CCHL and CJHL MVP Penn State commit Andy Sturtz, veteran centres Jordan Larson and Craig Peffley (Ferris State) as well as defencemen David Eccles and Cornell bound Trent Shore. Goalie Guillaume Therrien who backstopped the Canadians to the RBC Final last season also was named.

Five members of the Pembroke Lumber Kings were selected including the high-flying line of Anthony Nellis, Alexandre Boivin and Canisius bound Felix Chamberland as well as Colgate recruit Adam Dauda.  Goaltender Connor Hughes rounds out the Pembroke contingent.

Four members of the Fred Page Cup host Cornwall Colts will participate including Clarkson bound captain Marly Quince, linemate Kevin Hope and the dynamic defence pairing of Zac Tierney and Ross Craig who are headed to Ferris State and Cornell respectively join four Smiths Falls Bears including top scorer and Princeton commit Neil Doef as well as defenders Jared Henry and Chris MacMillan and goaltender Cole Skinner in Toronto.

Three members of the Yzerman Division leading Ottawa Jr Senators with Alexandre Savard in goal, and veteran rearguards Matt Cruickshank and Robert Michel join three Nepean Raiders in Josh Zizek, Broydon Stufko and Robert Morris commit Brandon Watt in the event.

Top scorer Ryan Kuffner (Princeton) and linemates Max Veronneau (Princeton) and Matt Foget (Merrimack) represent the Gloucester Rangers as a high flying unit with three Hawkesbury Hawks, forwards Jason Brochu, Hunter Racine (Colgate) and defenceman Damien Charette.and three Brockville Braves-Andrew Peski, RMU bound Eric Israel and Liam Folkes also selected.

A pair of Kemptville 73’s in Jason Tackett and Erik Brown and two Cumberland Grads, Max St. Pierre and Dartmouth defenceman Cameron Roth with Kanata’s Domenic Camastra round out the rosters.

The tournament begins on Friday November 14 and concludes on Sunday November 16.


Author: MarchHockey

Owner/Editor Sports. Music. Nursing. Life. Twitter: @MarchHockey

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: